New CD

CD & Photo Cart
Snapshots Pg 1
Snapshots Pg 2
New CD
CD Liner/Notes
Offline Order Form
New Appearances

Diane Renay is proud to present her New Double CD compilation

(front cover)

(back cover)


(Listen to a sampling of a track by clicking on the underlined selections.)

CD #1

CD #2

1."Little White Lies" 1. "Little Miss Lonely Heart"
2. "Dynamite" 2. "They Lied"
3. "Falling Star" 3. "My First Corsage"
4. "The Company You Keep" 4. "Good Day For a Parade"
5. "Cross My Heart, Hope to Die" 5. "Green Fields"
6. "Trouble Maker" 6. "Maybe"
7. "Happy Birthday Broken Heart" 7. "Together Again"
8. "Words" 8. "Love is Wonderful"
9. "Please Gypsy" 9. "This is Where I Came In"
10. "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me" 10. "I'd Rather Do It Myself"
11. "Can't Help Lovin' That Man" 11. "The Gift of Love"
12. "Yesterday" 12. "Come On Out and Play"
13. "Live and Learn" 13. "Let's Talk It Over"
14. "See How They Run" 14. "City Girl"
15. "Big City Boy" 15. "Navy Blue"
16. "Teach Me Tonight" 16. "Blue Snow"
17. "Zing Went The Strings of My Heart" 17. "I Need You Too"
  18. "Somewhere Over The Rainbow"

"Most Recent Reviews of Diane Renay's New Double CD"


    AMG EXPERT REVIEW: As Harriet Schock released her Nik Venet-produced AMERICAN ROMANCE on her own, with former labelmate Genya Ravan similarly giving the world For Fans Only on Award Records in 2002, yet another alum from the 20th Century label has heard the calling. Miss Diane Renay hit number one on the adult contemporary charts in 1964 with her Top Ten 45 RPM "Navy Blue", and has come up with a fantastic double-CD retrospective of her recording career which fans of girl groups and good music will absolutely treasure. There is a fun, 1987 dance-oriented remake of her biggest hit on CD two, but that's only one of the excellent moments here. "Little White Lies" sweeps in, opening CD one with that sound that Connie Francis did so well. It was produced by Pete DeAngelis, who worked with Frankie Avalon and Al Martino, and was released on Atco Records in 1962 when she was only 16. In "Dynamite" you can hear the distinct sound that Bob Crewe helped the Toys get when producers Linzer and Randell put together the recordings that make up The Toys: A Lover's Concerto/Attack for Crewe's label. In a bit of synchronicity, the Barbara Now album was released by the Toys' Barbara Harrison her own imprint, receiving good press, around the same time as this project. Harrison sang backup on Renay's second hit, "Kiss Me Sailor" (not on this collection), and recorded the Beatles' "Yesterday" on her original A Lover's Concerto album. Renay includes her version of "Yesterday" here, which brings it all full circle. These amazing talents give the fans what record labels are supposed to in this business � the release of great music. The classy Diane Renay shifts gears again with "Falling Star", followed by "The Company You Keep", and this material is so strong, one wonders why this artist doesn't have a string of hit records up there with Dusty Springfield, Petula Clark, and other divas of the day. "The Company You Keep" has little riffs from her big hit, "Navy Blue", tucked neatly in the instrumentation, while "Troublemaker" has that gritty vocal style that made Brenda Lee's pop numbers so memorable. There are 17 songs on CD one, which clocks in at around 42 minutes and 53 seconds. The second disc holds another 18 tunes for 62 minutes and 53 seconds, a whopping 105 minutes and 46 seconds of music from this pop princess who has been away from listeners for far too long. The liner notes are extensive and give the story; track number 17 is her first test demo, "Zing Went the Strings of My Heart", recorded when she was 13 or 14 years old, around 1960. There's the story of how her parents knew a cousin of producer Pete DeAngelis, who brought her to Atco and to the attention of Jerry Wexler, who introduced Renay to Bob Crewe. The liners are so packed with information that one needs to go to the web page,, to get the six pages of liner notes and three additional bio pages. There is not enough room here to rave about the 35 tracks, from "Please Gypsy", which sounds like a sequel to Lou Christie's "The Gypsy Cried," to the beautiful covers of the Chantels' "Maybe" and Mel Carter's "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me". This is magical stuff full of solid pop music, majestic girl group gems, and dynamic performances from Diane Renay's first demo up to the impromptu recording of "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" during (but not at) the 1987 "Navy Blue" remake sessions. Diane Renay recorded a wealth of important music, and like the aforementioned singers, has not received her due. For fans of the genre, this double set is just terrific; every track is filled with the stuff that true fans go crazy at record shows looking for. Just a tremendous effort deserving of much attention. � Joe Viglione


April Issue-2002

    On the 1964 smash "Navy Blue", Diane Renay innocently wonders about her wayward boyfriend who said "Ship Ahoy" and joined the "Na-ya-vy". Produced and co-written by Bob Crewe, that girl-group classic highlights the 14-song reissue CD on Collectables; Renay's own inspired 1987 update debuts on Diane Renay Sings Some Things Old & Some Things New. She and producer David Lasley reinvent her signature tune as a pulsating dance-rock number, pouring in buckets of "sha-la-la's." Whether in the two minute original or its double-time successor, every moment of Navy Blue enchants.

Navy Blue album paints a seafaring motif on the charming follow-up hit "Kiss Me Sailor" and the clever "Bell Bottom Trousers". Exploiting his Four Seasons experience, Crewe adds dramatic drum rolls to "Please Forget Me" and collaborates with Bob Gaudio on the powerhouse single "Growin' Up Too Fast". Casting her natural sweetness overboard, Renay veers from a whisper to a snarl on the guitar-heavy "Watch Out Sally" (an MGM 45 in late '64), and long before Blondie, she fumes "I'm Gonna Getcha" on "Sooner Or Later".

Diane Renay Sings...compiles 35 songs over two CDs, culled from her own tapes, records, and acetates. The collection notes such career benchmarks as her earliest studio sessions, the 1962 Atco single "Little White Lies", and a Thom Bell production of "Yesterday". Although the audio quality is uneven, the nine songs from the Bob Crewe era fulfill the two-some's musical vision, reaching a pinnacle on the toughened 1965 single "Trouble Maker"; rocking out on the demo "Live And Learn"; and sharing a relaxed duet on "Teach Me Tonight". Renay favors layered keyboards and orchestrated big-ballad arrangements on 13 previously unreleased 1980s recordings, including her melodious compositions "Blue Snow" and "Love Is Wonderful". Into this ocean of sounds crashes a startling late '60s psychedelic impression of "Greenfields", a number as weirdly intoxicating as "Navy Blue" is buoyantly irresistible. ( or
by Joseph Tortelli


CD #1


CD #2